Thursday February 2

Selling Tobacco

Monday February 6

Possible sources of Info:
The Truth in Advertising Gallery
The Stanford School of Medicine Ad Gallery
The Richard W. Pollay 20th Century Tobacco Advertising Collection.

Choose one of the following topics for research:
  • The advertising history of one brand
  • How tobacco advertising has changed over time
  • Gender representation in tobacco ads over the past 60 years
  • Strategies geared to a particular target audience, such as youth, racial minorities, men or women over the past 60 years.

Once you have chosen a topic, write a report that includes:

  • A general overview of tobacco advertising strategies relating to their topic
  • Sample advertisements
  • Deconstruction of selected advertisements, including specific advertising techniques.

  1. Must be Typed
  2. Must have at least 3 ads.
  3. Can be emailed to:


Thursday February 9

Work on Assignment

Monday February 13

Work on Assignment

Thursday February 16

Work on Assignment

Monday February 27

Selling Obesity

Thursday March 2

Continue on from Feb. 16

Monday March 6

Promotion of a Healthy Food

Thursday March 9

Promotion of a Healthy Food

Monday March 13

Present Promotions

Thursday March 16

Alcohol on the Web

Monday March 20

Work on project

Thursday March 23

Continue to work on project

Monday March 27

Present projects.

Thursday March 30


Monday April 3

Thursday April 6

News Assignment


CBC The National CBC The National

CTV National News CTV National News

Monday April 10

Work on Assignment

Thursday April 13

Work on Assignment